Be Utterly Amazed

I posted this on on my Semkee/Seeds blog on September 28, 2012……One of my very favorites…..God’s faithfulness amazes me.

“Look at the nations and watch and be utterly amazed.  For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.”…….Habakkuk 1:5 (NIV)

Are you amazed at what is going on in the world every day?

I am.

Everyday since I’ve returned to Ukraine, I’ve been waking up and and saying to myself, “Thank you Lord for allowing me to walk in great faith.”

Every day my knees knock when I think about the problems I need to solve or am overwhelmed with the things I am going through.  Doors of opportunity fly closed and others fly open.  Roads that looked good to walk down suddenly don’t look as appealing.  I know I chose the “road less traveled” in this life, but does it have to be so chaotic and crazy?  Disaster could strike at any time.  Can I get through this?

I end up much like Habakkuk does, complaining to the Lord about all the unfairness I see daily around me, “The wicked hem in the righteous, so that justice is perverted!” (vs 4) or my paraphrase, “THESE PEOPLE ARE EVIL.  WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT?”

Everyone is wondering at the lack of justice in the world today.  Just read your Facebook newsreel.  Everyone you know is madly pasting reams of political copy on their pages in complete panic.

What is he going to do about it?  What is going to happen?

In Habakkuk 2:4 the Lord tells us what to do: “The righteous will live by faith.”

Not live by faith in our bank accounts.  Not walk by faith in our traditions.  Not stump our faith in our political systems but live our lives with faith in God.

When we choose to walk in great faith in the Lord we will rejoice:

Even though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines.

Even though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food.

Even though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls.

When you can walk in great faith then something amazing happens.  You realize you don’t have to do everything by your own strength.  You don’t have to figure it out.  You don’t have to have all the answers.  When you can look beyond your own strength and stop controlling everything, you will see something amazing.

You will start seeing God working in the world around you no matter how much it is spinning out of control.

You will be amazed.

Leave a Reply

