I Will Do A New Thing

Image

A little over a year ago, when I was home in the states, I read these verses daily and they were impressed deeply into my heart:

“Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old.  Behold I will do a new thing.  Now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it?  I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.  The beast of the field will honor me.  The jackals and the ostriches, because I give waters in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.  To give drink to my people, my chosen.  This people I have formed for myself:  they shall declare my praise.  –  Isaiah 43:18-21  

This past year has been amazing for me because when I was in the states, I let go of a lot of expectations about Ukraine and ministry here.  God had been leading me gently for a couple of years to change and grow in my spiritual outlook and it just seemed that everything transitioned last summer and I just knew that a new spiritual season was starting and would come into fruition when I returned to Ukraine.

God has been more than faithful this last year and indeed he is doing new things in my life.

That’s not to say everything has been easy.  In fact, it sometimes it’s super challenging.  Change or growth usually means leaving your comfort zone. 

Part of embracing a new season in your life is forgetting the past and understanding that God really can make all things new.  It’s important to “forget the former things.”  This is so we can look and move forward in our life.

People connections, money, “being holy”, and good works are all things we sometimes think we need when we serve God.  But when we step out in faith to serve him, sometimes it’s not so much what God is doing through us to minister to others, but it’s what he doing to us that matters most.

“This people I have formed for myself.” vs 21

Are we forming ourselves for our needs and desires, or are we letting other people form us for their agendas?  God is busy forming us for himself.  He doesn’t want us to let others do it for him.

If we are passionate to serve God are we willing to go down the narrow road towards him? 

“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it.  Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.”  –  Matthew 7:13,14

Sometimes we can make doing ministry so complicated.  We think we have to have the big organization set up with business cards, be connected to the big church because it has contacts all over the world, or raise enough money so you can create a big budget with big plans.

“For many are called, but few chosen.”  –  Matthew 20:16

It’s about just going and doing what you are called to do.  The hard part is not letting the happenstance of life define your future.  Sometimes it’s making the hard decision to start and then to continue on the journey.  It’s about hearing the call and following Jesus.  It’s your decision.  Between just you and God.

Let God form you for yourself.

2 thoughts on “I Will Do A New Thing

Leave a Reply

