Abide

I posted this on March 20, 2013 on Semkee/Seeds…..not that long ago……Thankful some of the stuff that was making my life so chaotic at the time is now resolved.  (Sorry some of it is not in paragraph form….blogger!!!)
 
 
Who doesn’t like to make plans?  I do.  I am a planner and want to have everything organized ahead of time.  Well, some people don’t plan and seem to do well in life and that works for them, but as for me, I am a planner.

I currently live in a country where the antithesis of planning is survival.  Does what I wrote even make sense?  What I mean is planning and being organized is not a survival trait in Ukraine therefore, planning something actually goes against accomplishing your goals.  If you want to survive, then sometimes you have to work against your goals.  That can make life very, very complicated.

Goals? 

Yes, they are important.

I have some.  We all should have some.

“Where there is no vision, the people perish.” – Proverbs 29:18 (KJV)

How do you deal with setting and achieving goals in a world full of chaos?

You set your goals and you pursue them.

And when you hit the wall you remember:

“Abide in me, and I in you.  As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.  I am the vine, you are the branches.  He who abides in me, and I in him, bears much fruit:  for without me you can do nothing.  If anyone does not abide in me, he is cast out as a branch and is withered; and they gather them and throw them into the fire, and they are burned.” – John 15:4-5 (KJV)

Before I left for Ukraine, I was drawn to this passage as I sat in my parents backyard reading my Bible in +70F sunshiny weather, working on a tan while the hummingbirds fluttered above me.  Yes, I digress a little to give you some color in this post.  It WAS a bit like a Disney movie.

I like to accomplish things, so I came back to Ukraine very excited and ready to start doing everything that I thought needed to be done.  I had goals.  I had ministry to accomplish.

And then those plans took a sharp turn in the wrong direction.

I found myself sitting in my warm flat with sub zero weather outside and snow falling outside my windows.  I viewed a winter wonderland before my very eyes.  (More color for you)  I then read these verses again.

As Christians,  we need to abide in him.

Abide means:
to act in accord with.
to submit to; agree to
to remain steadfast or faithful to; keep: If you make a promise, abide by it

 

 

 

If we want our lives to bear fruit, and live in ways that show others that we truly know him and are serving him, then we need to abide and stay close to him.  Because people watch each other all the time, and they can tell who is sincerely bearing fruit and who is faking it. Faking it doesn’t count.  Faking it means doing nothing.  Faking it means your life is just a show. And the serious part about faking it is that God knows when we do it and he will prune that falseness right out of our lives.  He wants our lives to bear fruit that will bless others around us, not bring people constant problems.

 

 

 

Who wants to be a fake?  Who wants to live out a show all the time?  That’s tiring and exhausting and does not really accomplish anything.  It bears fruit to a situation full of striving, strife and confusion.  Who wants that?

 

Better to abide.

 

Better to submit.

Better to be steadfast to the one who will always sustain you and never leave your nor forsake you.

 

Better to accomplish the goals he has for you.
Leave a Reply

