Flowers Don’t Grow Here

I posted this on May 25, 2013 on Semkee/Seeds……

Over seven years ago, I spent several years ministering to children who lived on the street. At that time in Kyiv there were many such children living under bridges, under apartment buildings, under the ground sleeping on radiator pipes during the freezing winter weather. They existed in the cracks and crevices of the city and could be seen hanging out everywhere.

I learned and experienced a lot during those years. I really was innocent and naive back then and learned a lot and made a few mistakes along the way. There’s a lot I could share and teach about from that era but I am not 100% ready yet. I will eventually.

This documentary trailer from the film, “Flowers Don’t Grow Here” features the children that I ministered to during that time. It’s a hard clip to watch. If you want to see the whole film, there is a link that you can click through and you pay about $1.56 to do so. I highly recommend it if you are interested in my ministry or in the work people do here with orphans/at risk children. Fortunately, Kyiv has changed a lot since then and thankfully, the numbers of children living on the streets has been reduced dramatically. However, the issues and psychological hardships these children deal with in the film are much like the ones I continue to address in my current ministry.

Leave a Reply

