Summer 2014, Check

Summer 2014 is over and done with and fall is in the air here in Ukraine.

I’ve been trying to process the last nine months of the roller coaster ride I’ve been on, but it’s pretty difficult to do.  The world around me has changed and drug me along with it whether I wanted to go or not.  I’ve learned more than anything not to trust in goals of the flesh, but to trust in the truth of God’s word.  It’s been an interesting experience to see with all the changes around me, if I stay close to God, then I will keep moving towards the goals and interestingly enough, life looks and feels somewhat stable. I can’t really explain that and sometimes I don’t feel that way when I’m in the middle of it, but I’m learning to trust God and that process.

I’m sorry I have not blogged a lot this summer.  I’ve wanted to blog more but it’s not time that hinders me, just the craziness of the world around me.  It’s hard to process and then write about it.

Here’s what stands out in my mind from this summer:

A funeral for a fallen soldier

An embassy’s front steps, that I pass nearly every day on my way to the market, covered with flowers, toys, candles, angry signs about the deaths of 295 innocent people.

An absolutely amazing camp experience working with orphans and at risk children.

New friends.

Lots and lots of coffee.

Trying to process what it’s like to be a refugee from listening to my friend’s stories.

Way, way, way, too many articles and photos about war in Ukraine coming up in my Facebook newsreel.

Running into my favorite babushka on her birthday and having her tell me that she had asked God that morning to run into me for her birthday present.

Baseball.

995091_10152246784921386_3369960877171763746_nIt’s been an interesting season of experiencing a lot of good and a lot of bad at the same time and developing a lot of hope for the future.  Trusting God to get us all through this.

And my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.  Now to our God and father be glory forever and ever.  Amen.  –  Philippians 4:19,20

Leave a Reply

