Called To Hope

20150107_131715It’s the darkest, most depressing time of the year here in Ukraine.  We haven’t had much snow.  The weather has been weird.  A lot of rain and it’s been really warm.  Relatively speaking of course.  41F today.

The news lately has been as depressing as the weather.  Not just in Ukraine, but in other parts of the world, people’s hearts are failing as chaos continues.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about hope.  Some days it’s been hard to conjure it up.  And then I realized that I don’t have to force it.  I don’t have to create it.  I don’t have to fake it.

Christians are called to hope.  It is intrinsic to our faith in God.  If we are trusting in God, then hope should become part of our nature.

Some years ago when I was going through a confusing time and struggling with feeling hopeful in the face of adversity, I began to read Psalm 16 every day.  Here’s a couple of verses from the chapter:

I have set the Lord always before me;
Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices;
My flesh also will rest in hope.

When the world weighs you down with it’s hopelessness, remember that you are called to hope.  Hope will spring from the soil of our heart when we are trusting in Him.  It will be there when you need it most.  It will bring you comfort in this crazy world. And you will be able to inspire others with it.

2 thoughts on “Called To Hope

  1. I read this and your end of 2014 posts. Both beautiful and written from the heart. I appreciate being connected to you heart to heart. It ‘s interesting how some of my blog friends seem closer to me than my face to face friends. Heart to heart goes deeper than face to face, obviously. Your hope post is one I can relate to. Psalm 16 is one of my fave psalms. And your end of 2014 post had some sad realities in it, but it’s true… They are all part of life on this side of eternity. Like you, I am expecting good things to happen in 2015. Shalom, dear friend. Praying that God will meet you in a very special way this year… In Genesis 15:1 God says, Do not be afraid, for I am your shield, and your exceedingly great reward. I declare that those words are for you, Michelle, as you battle for God’s kingdom and righteousness right where you are.

    • Your blog inspired me to make some changes in my blogging so thank you for your comments! I am always inspired when I read your posts even tho I don’t post many comments on blogs anymore…. 🙂 HAPPY 2015!!!!

Leave a Reply

