Victory In Europe Day Reads

To celebrate the 70th Anniversary of Victory In Europe, I will raise a cup of “Kicking Horse” coffee to those who fought or gave their lives in the war and write a blog post!

11174945_10152704433401386_2520533494963425999_nI love history so I also thought it might be nice to share with you some of my favorite books about the World War 2 era:

This book mainly focuses on FDR and Eleanor Roosevelt and their lives during the war.  It also covers a lot of history that happened during the war.  It’s a different and very personal viewpoint of what happened behind the scenes in the White House during a very difficult time.  It’s detailed, juicy, emotional and inspiring.
Inspiring, riveting, heartbreaking.  We all know about this girl and what happened to her.  She will live forever through her words.
Another classic and the movie is super popular, but have you read the book?  It’s hard to find but I have a copy.  There are so many details that could not be covered in the movie.  Oskar Schindler was an ordinary man who may have only been known for being a businessman, an alcoholic and womanizer, but World War 2 came crashing into Kracow, Poland and he became an extraordinary man who made the right choices and saved many lives.

Americans have dubbed the generation that fought World War 2, “The Greatest Generation,” and this book is about two people from that generation who fought and served in the war, fell in love and came back home to build a life together.

A newer and fictional book that continues to haunt me.  The movie is also very good but everything in the book can’t be put in the movie so you need to read the book first.  The story about a German orphan girl whose family takes in a Jewish man and hides him in their basement.  Sounds typical right?  But considering that Death is telling the story, this book has enough depth that stays with you long after you finish reading it.

Want to know what it was like to live in Germany as a Christian and not a Jew?  The moral pressure?  The confusion?  What is it like to stand up for your faith and for the humanity of others in an evil time?  This book which is the life story of Dietrich Bonhoeffer will reveal these things and more.

 

2 thoughts on “Victory In Europe Day Reads

  1. I read 2 of the books on your list: Anne Frank & Bonhoeffer. It took me years to be able to watch the movie of Schindler’s List; I finally watched the DVD while I was on a cruise (I know I’m weird.) I’ve also read about the Normandie invasion but I don’t remember the names of the books–just some images that will remain with me of guys who didn’t make it.

    Sharnin

    ________________________________

    • I almost got up and walked out of Schindler’s List. I made myself stay because I knew I would try to watch it again and at that moment didn’t want to contemplate that. Some years later, I bought the movie and watched it again, and again….and again….I was very interested in the directing. I also began to notice that there were people in the movie who lived through it all and made it to the end alive. The movie looked a lot different to me once I noticed that. Unfortunately it was so violent that I could not pick that up without watching it many times. The book is much more about Oskar and his life and the details of what happened in his factory, what life was like in Kracow, etc. It’s very good. When I was in Kracow I was able to visit Auschwitz (hard but very important to see) and also Schindler’s factor which is now a museum focusing on what life was like in Kracow during WW2. Hard topics but important history for people to know about.

Leave a Reply

