Some Thoughts On What It’s Like

The other night I got into bed and thought, “I just can’t. I just can’t take any more negative things into my mind.”  My mind was absolutely filled with with swirling information and I just couldn’t process one more thing.

During the last year in Ukraine, I have been blessed with the ability to sleep almost on demand, even after a cup of coffee.

I think my mind is so tired of trying to process and organize the world around me that it’s content to fall into a dead like coma for a few hours.

Life has changed for everyone in Ukraine and it continues to change with the unknown factors of war.

This past week  a huge right wing demonstration was held on Maidan. The year anniversary for MH17 came and passed with a small collection of flowers and toys set up on the steps of the Dutch Embassy in Kyiv.

IMG_20150717_163158The media continues to refuse to call an invasion and war what it is.  The weird feeling of deception and victimization that people feel inside a country when lies are perpetrated to the world about what is happening and the people are suffering inside this bubble of chaos is hard to explain.  It’s just…..really weird.

I wish I could write more but it’s just hard to process enough and explain things clearly right now.

Please keep praying for Ukraine.

4 thoughts on “Some Thoughts On What It’s Like

  1. It’s hard to believe it’s been a year since the plane was shot down. I don’t know how to tell you to calm your mind. Think about heaven. (Or even Narnia heaven–I just re-read The Last Battle.)

    Joyce Sharnin

    Los Angeles

    ________________________________

  2. I just had an unreal (to me) conversation with someone online. She asked what was Euromaidan. ?!?!? And then her reason for not knowing about it was that she hadn’t been following Ukrainian news and history “way back in 2013.” Whoa. That almost knocked me over. It’s here and now, feels like it started just yesterday and definitely still ongoing….

  3. The media is not covering Maidan or the Russian invasion. It is sad but a sign of our times that we can no longer trust journalism to frame what is happening in our world. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

