Baseball Is More Important Than Food

IMG_8186I have a few non formal rules about baseball and here’s one of them:

Baseball is more important than food.

Right now, it’s just my rule and it’s one I take very seriously.

I don’t care what kind of food is sold at a ballpark.  I don’t care how hungry anyone is.

When baseball is going on, it is more important than food.

Don’t take me to the ballpark at the beginning of the first inning and think I will stand in line for food.  I won’t.  You have passed the recommended baseball game arrival time and seats must be secured before the first pitch.  If you didn’t plan to come early to stand in line for food, then you are out of luck.  Baseball is more important than food.  So you are stuck with eating whatever some poor soul is selling in the aisle.  The same person that I will yell at if they come between me and my line of vision of what is happening on the field.  If it’s a poor food mix, that’s tough.  Chocolate malts and cracker jacks not a meal for you?  That’s tough. Baseball is more important than food.

If you need me to pass food down to you, then wait til an appropriate moment’s break in the game, preferably between innings. Better yet, just throw it over my head but you better catch it because I’m not running to the bathroom for paper towels if you spill something. Baseball is more important than food.

I once had a friend bring me a hot dog with everything on it……not quite how I eat mine.  I take just mustard. He was kind, “I will go get you another one.”  “No you won’t,” I said as I carefully scraped onions off it onto the ground.  “The game is starting and baseball is more important than food.”

Yes, I go to the game early, I get my food and usually have it eaten before the game starts. Baseball is more important than food.  If I am absolutely starving and there’s no one in line on the way back from a bathroom break between innings, I might grab a pretzel, but that’s the only exception.  Baseball is more important than food.

Who are these strange people who call themselves baseball fans who never plan their meal times and leave for three innings to go get something to eat?  They MISS THE GAME!  Don’t they know?  Baseball is more important than food.

The baseball players aren’t eating on the field (sunflower seeds are not included in this rant of the sport. That’s another blog post.)  Coaches aren’t eating and umpires certainly are not eating.  Why?  Baseball is more important than food.

Don’t ask me to cook, go buy food or forage for a short hot dog line when baseball is going on. I won’t do it.  Baseball is more important than food.  Eat before or eat after.  The game’s the thing.

Baseball is more important than food.

3 thoughts on “Baseball Is More Important Than Food

Leave a Reply

