You Are Still In Ukraine?

Whenever I run into people I haven’t seen in a long while here, I get the inevitable surprised look and question, “You are still in Ukraine?”

“Yes, yes, I am.” Is my standard answer.

Then the pained look, “How ARE you?  Why are you still here?”

“Because I came to serve God and He still has me here.”

They can’t help it, but I get a strange, pained look at this point in the conversation.

One time someone asked me this and my Ukrainian friend snapped back at the questioner, “You NEVER have to ask an American how they are.  She is still here.  You can see her with your own eyes.  If she is here you don’t have to ask her how it is going because if she’s still here it’s going very well.  If it wasn’t going very well, she would return to America.”

Enough said.

I’m still here, by the grace of God.

 

Leave a Reply

